top of page

Nothing Ever Goes Exactly to Plan

Updated: Jan 22

I am doing this thing called people-watching on some balcony of the school's building. On the other half of the school property divided by a tarmac road, I see other students walking up and down the stairs. It's about eleven, what class could not have already been in session?

The one thing I always think to myself is now a legit fact that I confirm today: their style is on a whole other level (and I'm always taking notes btw). They are that good.


So, this is how it must feel to be watched. I guess there is some truth to Big Brother always watching. If that joke didn't come out well, just cringe and forget that I mentioned it. Thanks. (Saying that reduces the embarrassment, in some way.)


Where am I going with this?


My phone battery died, and I am currently cut off from the world (temporarily). Things are not going according to plan. I planned out this specific long break that would fall in between my classes. Now, I am left to chance.


I would call myself a planner. I do not like to let life simply play itself out. However, upon reflection of the disruptions of my plans in the past, they seem to be trying to tell me something I didn't know until now.


Drum rolls, please...


Nothing ever works out 100% how we plan it to.


A white lady seated next to a water body deep in thought.
We don't have control over everything. Photo credit: pexels.com

It might have not been new to you, but it was a realization for me.


A friend of mine once told me that we are in control of what happens in our lives (if you're reading this, hey!). Sure, I believe that. Someone said that the easiest way to predict one's future is by creating it. I believe that. But, it sucks when on some days, all my goals aren't ticked off at the end of the day.


Here's the thing - I don't think that it is worth sulking over sh*t that happens (or doesn't, in this case).


The remedy I propose is simply allowing yourself to be flexible. (Not new, but roll with it.)


Go with the flow. Photo credit: pexels.com

That is a lesson I learnt difficultly, I must say. My school plans are constantly frustrated by how the school and any other person might opt to carry out their stuff, and also by how things just turn out (chance).


Nowadays, the flexibility makes me live in the present and I don't have to look forward to the end of a semester to enjoy life once more.


Although I second my friend, I also believe in a bigger plan already drafted by a higher being, who's always watching (and could be smiling down at you right now). Some might call it God's plan or the way of the universe, but it is essentially the same thing.


Learning to leave it to *insert your preferred term* and just roll with it has been challenging. It might explain why I cannot swim, maybe because I like being able to control things and fine-tune the environment to how I know it'll favour me.


However, I didn't say that you shouldn't plan:).


You can check out an interesting set of answers I came across on Quora for a question asking about the need to plan if nothing goes exactly as planned here. Great stuff.


Letting go and letting it be has been a good strategy because it's been working. Working wonders for my mental health and suppressing my anxiety.


Maybe a lesson learnt a little late in life. I don't mind.


Nothing ever goes to plan.


Celebrate yourself if it does.


Just take it easy on yourself if it doesn't.






Recent Posts

See All

Coping.

bottom of page