top of page

I'm in Charge of My Life (and so should you, too!)

Updated: Jan 22

July is a month that represents freedom and liberation. I thought that I should make this month's blog posts revolve around that.


Not too long ago, I lived a life that I cannot compare with my current one. I feel more alive now than I ever have.


I know I'm channelling major Kourtney Kardashian vibes already *wink wink*.



Quick question: do you feel in charge of your life?


Two years ago, I would have said no. A lot of factors came into play in making that the case.

If you happen to feel the same way in your current state, I think you should keep scrolling.

Sure, our life journeys are different, but maybe the remedy might work for you as well.


Looking back, I think my major point of transformation was after my breakup. That was an experience that turned my life around for the better. I cannot find any reason why that was the timing, but I had to choose that, you know.


My sanity depended on it.


I might not be the "it person" who seems to be doing life right, but at least I make myself happy with what I choose now.


Here's how I changed my narrative and forced my way into the driver's seat, ready to just take charge of my life (my attempt at a dramatic sequence, lol).


  • Letting go of trying to please everybody and learning to say NO.


Not to play the personality card...but I'm playing the personality card.


The INFJ is prone to be caught up in people-pleasing, not because they want to be liked, but because they have a strong desire to not let people down. That is me.


If I don't like something, I just straight up say no and let it be. Why is it seen as a radical thing to say no to people and things which do not serve us?


Say no more often, especially when you don't want to do something.


  • Changing my mindset.


I came across this saying on my feed today that said that the sky isn't the limit, but your mindset is.


Woah.


My opinion about the best mindset to have serves you and doesn't limit you in any way.


Being a prisoner of the mind is a real thing, and developing a healthy mindset is just it. You will have stolen the show by doing that.


  • Realizing that I am not responsible for living up to other people's expectations of me.


This was tough because I am wired to not want to let people down. It is burdensome, and more often than not, you kind of feel like an imposter to the person you know you truly are.


It is not something worth doing, since who gave others the right to place expectations on you and expect you to meet them?


It's selfish.

This also made me aware of the fact that I have different parts to me, but they make me who I am.


Feel free to embrace the whole of you.


  • I try not to care what others think of me.


Looking back, I admit that that was no way to live.


You know what? F*ck the image and be who the heck you want to be.


Sometimes when I want to post another blog post, I experience a lot of doubt and I sometimes don't want to put it out there.


However, I do it because what I think of it is what matters most (although I value your feedback).


  • I started living in the present and enjoying the little things.


On their final reunion, I heard Kim K say that she's at a point where she simply wants to enjoy the little things. I was surprised.


Here I am, chasing my big dreams and other "big things" and here is someone who's already achieved that, now desperately wanting to enjoy the little things in life.


She didn't have to say more.


Remember that you are living your dream life. Be present.


  • I cared about truly liking myself.


Liking yourself is important because you spend most of your time alone with yourself.


Your guess is as good as mine. I enjoy my company a lot.

A LOT.

Like it should be.


Lastly...


  • Realizing that I have control over my life.


We exercise some form of control over our lives. Think of it as being a director of a film - what you want to play out, you will allow, and what you don't, you cut from the scene.


Make the moves that feel right, and those that serve you.

Call the shots, it's your life.


Made it this far? Thank you.


You're ready.


Now go out there and make me proud.





0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Coping.

bottom of page